Check your Masterpoints Online

European Open 2013 – team Mazurkiewicz wins!

June 26, 2013

In the finals of the Open teams event of the European Open 2013, team Mazurkiewicz narrowly beat team Breno over 28 boards to annex the title for the premier event. The match was a real cliffhanger. Team Breno took a comfortable lead of 24 imps in the first half. Team Mazurkiewicz posted a strong riposte in the 2nd half to get a 32 imp advantage and come up trumps by the net margin of 8 imps.

In the play-off for the bronze medal, IsrMany pipped Groupe France by the slender margin of 5 imps, after being down by 5 imps in the first half. Both matches turned to be come-from-behind wins.

The final standings:

Gold :  Mazurkiewicz (Marcin Mazurkiewicz, Krzysztof Jassem, Pawel Jassem, Jakub Wozcieszek, Piotr Gawrys & Piotr Tuszynski)

Silver: Breno (Romain Zaleski, old warhorse Benito Garozzo of Blue Team fame, Andrea Manno, Massimo Lanzarotti, Ricardo Intonti & Mario D’ Avossa)

Bronze : IsrMany (Ilan Herbst, Ophir Herbst, Alon Birman, Dror Padon, Josef Piekarek & Alexander Smirnov)

The Open pairs qualifiers, in which 279 pairs are competing for top honors, are in progress simultaneously. After day 1 (out of a total of 2 days of qualification rounds) Lars Arthur Johansen & Gjermund Rekstad of Norway were in pole position, with 61.77%, closely followed by Franck Riehm and Michel Duguet of France with 61.67%). The top Indian performers were G. Venkatesh and Keyzad Anklesaria who were in 101st position, with a score of 52.02%, followed by Dipak Poddar and Anal Shah in 136th place with 50.4%.

94 pairs will qualify for the semi-finals from this group and will be joined by 6 pairs from the Open teams semi-finalists. From the 100 pairs that play the semi-finals on Wednesday, 46 will qualify for the finals.

  • Comments
  • About post

You must be logged in to post a comment. - Log in

posted on June 26, 2013
in Information, Results, Tourneys
tagged , , , ,
about author Vijay Devadassvdevadass

Vijay Devadass

All posts by this author

2014 © Bridge Federation of India
Skip to toolbar